Need to understand receiver specs / multi zone audio system

Username: Dwareham

Post Number: 6
Newbie here, and do-it-yourselfer...
Our house is pre-wired for a home audio system. I have 10 zones (1 to 4 speakers in each zone) and 2 of those zones are outside. I'm pretty sure the speakers are 8 ohms but I need to pull one out and double-check.
Each room has a simple volume control.
I just picked up a speaker selector (Niles MSA-10A). Now I need to find a receiver capable of powering the system.
We only want one source (plan to plug PC into receiver and use iTunes so we can control it remotely via iPhones). We're fine with listening to the same thing throughout all zones; no need for different music in different zones.

So what are the minimum power specs for a receiver that won't under-power the system but also won't bust my wallet?

How many watts do I need?

Is there anything else I should consider besides watts, given that I have a speaker selector with impedence matching?

Thanks in advance.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13704

Niles claims the switch box has autoformers which allow simultaneous multiple speaker operation without loading down the amplifier. This should provide sufficient protection for the amplifier, so, in theory, you could buy whichever receiver/amplifier you prefer.