Mixing old and new technology

Username: Blue96flhtcu

Post Number: 2
I'm a newbie to this site as of today so go easy on me. In 1975 I purchased a McIntosh 1900, rated at 55 watts, and JBL L100 speakers and happy to say they are both alive and well. I recently purched a 52" Sony LCD, Samsung 2500, and a Pioneer SC-09 reciever. Until I can afford new speakers I am using the JBL L100 for my mains and similar JBL for center and rear. As of now I don't have a SUB. My question to the group is that I have to crank up the volume on the Pioneer to get the JBLs to really make some noise. This was not the case with my McIntosh, at half volume the speakers were loud enough for my taste. I used the MCACC automated speaker setup to configure the system. I double and tripled checked the wiring/polarity/phase but still don't understand the problem. I don't want to damage these speakers and/or AVR as the speakers will be used in another part of the house when new speakers are purchased. Any ideas appreciated.

Platinum Member
Username: Jan_b_vigne

Dallas, TX

Post Number: 13579

You have five Century's in one room and you have to turn it up? HOLYCRAP! Whadda ya live in the Vatican?

Maybe it was all that listenin' at "half volume" on the Mac that did this to you.

Ahem ...

The position of the vc is relative to nothing other than another unit with the same vc and fed the same sources. Volume controls have different tapers that affect how loud the system plays at any particular setting on the vc. The input level of the receiver (in this case) works with the output level of the sources to determine the output wattage of the amplifier for any particular vc setting.

So you might just have a combination of electronics that requires you to crank up the control. It is the amount of clean wattage available to a speaker like the L100 that matters.

Does the system play loud enough for you? Are you running out of power or out of volume?

Post Number: 3