Mini Bargain Standmount Speaker Shootout

Bronze Member
Username: Mordecai

Texas

Post Number: 95
Okay, I did a little speaker shootout Saturday for my benefit mostly. I'm rather new to 2.0 systems. I'm also not a professional reviewer so I may not articulate the qualities of each speaker with correctly. I will do my best. I made notes as I listened. This was not a side by side comparison either. I listened to each set of speakers using the same music and equipment for 60 minutes. Again, I made notes as I listened of my impressions.

The equipment, low end stuff mostly. I used an Onkyo 705, Panasonic BD35 BR player, Steel speaker stands filled with sand. Twelve gauge speaker wire with jumpers (no biwiring).

The Speakers -

Acculine A2 (5.25 MTM config with Planar Magnet tweeter). They sold for $350 for a pair but were sold separately. They are used as HT speakers.

Acculine A1 (same drivers as A2 but only one woofer). These sold for $249 a pair and are my rear speakers for HT.

Infinity Beta 20 - $120 for the pair

Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 - $250 a pair at STO

I listened to selected cuts from film scores (Kingdom of Heaven and Two Weeks Notice) KOH has lots of instrument variation and TWN has piano and, guitar). I also listened to songs by Courtney Jaye, Ryan Adams, Lisa Loeb, and Ingrid Michaelson.