Marantz pm7200. Class A on a budget!

valeem
I'm considering building a seperate hi-fi system for another room and have included the Marantz PM7200 in my shortlist of amplifiers. Does anyone have any experience of this amplifier? I have already purchased a pair of Mission M71i's for this system and will most probably go with the NAD C521i or C521BEE cd player.

I read a review of the PM7200 in a well respected UK audio magazine and they praised it highly. They said that in its normal mode it can rival anything in its price class (£320 but can get it for £230) but in its Class A mode it could rival amps in the £1000 price class. Phew!

Unregistered guest
I've been using a Marantz PM7200 for about three months and I can only report good things about it. As always you should try before you buy. It really is two amps in one. Magazine reports that there is little difference between class AB and class A are wide of the mark, it does take time however to identify the differences. This is no chore, this amp is a tad on the warm side but very detailed. It seems to adapt itself to any musical style you choose to listen to. I have a pair of Mission 751 Freedoms which have proved to be a very good match. On other forums users also report positive results with Mission speakers. I have it partnered with an Arcam 72T CD player. Another good match.
It also has a reasonable phono input for vinyl lovers, MM only, though I do recommend an off board phono pre-amp if you're serious about the black stuff. I have owned a number of amps over the years and this one, I think, is stunning at any price.

Silver Member
Username: Sun_king

Leeds, West Yorkshire UK

Post Number: 124