Music only speakers for my living room

Username: Paulcw1

Post Number: 1
Hi Folks,

I'm a total newbie here and I'm looking for some advice on a set of speakers for my living room. Here's the scoop:
My budget: About $1,000 (for the pair, I know it will be tough to get good speakers for that price but my ears aren't that sophisticated yet).
The room: It will be a problem as its about 20 by 20 with a 20 foot high flat ceiling. Hardwood floor and very little sound absorbing material on the side walls. The front wall has several large widows and the back wall is 50% open to the foyer.
The speakers: I need 8 ohm speakers in this zone as zone 1 already has new 8 ohm speakers and my amp cannot drive speakers in different zones with different impedance.
Candidates: I'm considering B&W 684, Axiom M60 V2, Monitor Audio RS6 and (if I can find a deal on them) Focal 716V.

There will not be a subwoofer and I listen to a big variety of music.

Anyone have anything particularly good or bad to say about the short list of candidates and how they might sound in my challenging room?

TIA,
Paul

Gold Member
Username: Exerciseguy

Brooklyn, NY United States

Post Number: 2277
http://www.brandnamez.com/p-39136-monitor-audio-silver-rs-6.aspx

Post Number: 2
Hi Christopher,

Thanks for the link. That looks to be a great price. The problem is that I just noticed that the Monitor Audio RS6 is a 6 ohm speaker.

Anyone know if I'll fry my amp running a 6 ohm speaker through it (Its a cheap Yamaha RX-V1800 and its only switchable between 4 and 8 ohms and I have it set on 8 ohms).

Thanks again.

Gold Member

Post Number: 2278
From Crutchfield:

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_022RXV1800/Yamaha-RX-V1800.html?tab=detailed_info

"Impedance Selection: You can select between either 8 ohms or 6 ohms in the menu depending on your speaker application. The amplifier's front channels can actually accommodate 4 ohm, 6 ohm or 8 ohm speakers. The remainder of the receiver's channels can handle 6 or 8 ohms."