Need Help with 2.1 Stereo System Choices

Username: Bcf150

Post Number: 1
Hello, I am new to home audio and looking to get a simple first setup. I've done a little research, but it is all based on forum opinions and periodical reviews, nothing hands-on.

I'm looking for a 2.1 setup that will useful for music and movies. It would be probably 60% for music and 40% movies. The room is basically 20x20 with doors on each of the four walls. The majority of the music I listen to is a combo of easy listening, 80's, and classic rock. However I am not biased and listen to everything from rap, opera, classical, big band, etc.

I have a Harmon Kardon HK3490 stereo receiver and a HK DVD48 as my source. I have a Polk Audio PSW10 that I recently bought and plan on keeping it and just upgrading it later. I am looking for a decent set of floorstanding or bookshelf speakers. My budget is around $500. Through research I found that the following are recommended routinely:

Paradigm Titan Monitor
NHT Classic 3
Axiom M22v2

I am leaning toward the Polk Audio RTi A5 because of their current price on the Polk ebay site. They appear to be a good bang for the buck that I could upgrade later on if I went to a 5.1 setup. I am also considering the Klipsch RF-62 if I can find a deal on them.

My only point of reference ( if you can call it that) is a set of Klipsch 2.1 ProMedia computer speakers, other than those all I have as far as speakers are the Sonys that I bought back in 1992 as part of a component stereo system. I am limited due to by location and time constraints from being able to audition any of the ones I mentioned

Sorry for the long post and thanks for any help!

Gold Member
Username: Nickelbut10

Post Number: 2149