Need help with Yamaha RX-1100

Username: Bassmasta

Minnesota ( ...

Post Number: 1
Hello all, Im new to home stereo Equipment but had an opportunity to purchase an older Yamaha Rx-1100 receiver for my garage system and I have a few questions. My receiver is I believe a six channel (Has six black and six red )speaker outlets on it. Is there a brand of speakers that is built to be loud and lots of bass as opposed to clean and clear audio reproduction? Im not talking ghetto bass more in the lines of clean tigh hard hitting bass
Second question. Is it ok to run a subwoofer on 1 or 2 of the channels without fear of overheating? What brand of subwoofer is recommended. Final question. Can I shut off the power going through 1 channel and run a powered subwoofer or an additional amp? Thanks for the help and suggestions. G

Gold Member
Username: Nuck

Post Number: 9790
Cerwin Vega or Klipch.

Ignore the subs and whatnot with 12" CV.
Just run stereo.

Minnesota ( ...

Post Number: 2
My Manual says 100 or 125 watts per channel at .015 thd. Does that mean 100 watts to each black and red set(channel). Would you recommend a certain speaker model? Is it better to have speakers that require more power (500) watts a piece or speakers with a lower power requirement. Would it over work the Amp to have all 6 speakers running at the same time, ususally at higher volumes. Say 3 pairs of CV RE 30's. Thank you very much. Grant

Gold Member

Post Number: 9792
CM, you are looking for speakers with a high sensitivity,like 93db/wm or above.
CV speakers...well you need only a pair for a garage.
If you want more, start a garage band.
And invite me over.

'We would jam in Joe's garage'...

Minnesota ( ...

Post Number: 3
Nuck, with your help, you are welcome over anytime. lol
Couple of more questions and then I will leave you alone.