Speaker selection help!

Username: Datunte

Post Number: 2
Hello all,

I am very new to this all, but excited as hell. I want to get the Pioneer Elite VSX-84TXSi
for my A/V receiver. I am having a hard time matching up speakers. I have $2500-$3000 to spend on speakers. Any suggestions?

Thanks yall!

Silver Member
Username: Davidpa

Portland, Oregon US

Post Number: 456
Yep.
polk audio
nht
boston acoustics
tyler acoustics
vienna acoustics
b @ w
m @ k
paradigm
martin logan
sonus faber
infinity
aerial acoustics
klipsch
cerwin vega
revel
dynaudio
anthony gallo
canton
KEF
KLH
dali
meridian
overkill audio
bolzano
monitor audio
totem
mordaunt-short
focal
triangle
jamo
thiel
atc
proac
apendor
wilson
naim
linn
and of course, bose

Your sure to get many more recommendations as I'm sure I missed some, but this should be a good starting point.

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 13896
for the Pioneer...I'd go with Axiom

http://www.axiomaudio.com/epicgrandmaster_500main.html

Silver Member
Username: Gavdawg

Upstate, New York

Post Number: 625
I would NOT mate warmer sounding speakers with that Pioneer Elite.

I myself would recommend Axiom and Klipsch Reference with the Pioneer.

If you pair it with a warm speaker, the sound can become muddy. System synergy is very important. While I like a warm sound, I don't like it too warm. If the receiver and speakers both have a warmth to them, it will become overbearing after a while.

Silver Member

Portland, Oregon US

Post Number: 461
Gavin, YOU would not. Some might, and Im sure have. I put the names (all of em) there more as a joke if it was overlooked. What we recommend, what he has access to, his listening habits all play a factor. Plus, the OP never gave any valuable info except that he was looking for a speaker "to match" which is vague in its own right, hence all the different brands I posted. I honestly am surprised there was an actual speaker recommendation without knowing what the OP likes for sound.