Vienna Acoustics Haydn Grand...

Username: Blowfish

Post Number: 1
Hi, I am pretty new in the world of Home Audio. I recently went to local Magnolia to listen to some speakers (mostly bookshelf). At first, I liked Def. Tech. studio monitor sm350. But after listening to Vienna Acoustics Haydn Grand, oh my, Def. Tech. sm350 sounds very harsh all of sudden. :-( VA Haydn grand is completely out of my budget. DT sm350 is about $450, and VA is $1200. Only way I can get VA Haydn is by 18 month interest free plan. Do you think VA is worth the cost? I don't have money to upgrade the speaker later, so if I buy a pair now, I want something that I am completely satisfied with. And I am very, very impressed by VA Haydn grand. Audio gurus, what should I do? Show me the way! :-) Are there any bookshelf speakers similar to VA Haydn Grand below $500? I was reading about Monitor audio silver sr1. How MA silver compare to VA Haydn? Thank you very much for your input.

Bronze Member
Username: Audionew

Arlington, Texas

Post Number: 12
i like paradigm and would feel comfortable recommending them to anyone.........but i'm a beginner too so dont take my word for it

Bronze Member
Username: Audionew

Arlington, Texas

Post Number: 13
that atoms or mini-monitors should be in your price range, some depends on your electronics

Platinum Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 12228
Vienna Acoustics...very nice! Their worth is totally dependent on your perception. If you were impressed, then anything else will be a compromise. If you can listen to Paradigm, try them, but do not buy anything unheard. And the Monitor Audio Silvers will be a little bright compared to Vienna Acoustics.

Silver Member
Username: Stefanom

Silver Spring, MD United States

Post Number: 278