B&W CM1 vs Dynaudio Audience 42 (52)

Username: Lazoroski

Skopje, Macedonia Macedonia, T...

Post Number: 3
Dear all,

This is my second post on the board. I consider myself much more a music lover than a hifi enthusiast, but I really enjoy good and expressive hifi sound, alltough I have little and modest experience in that field.

I'm considering changing my speakers and I would like to hear your opinion on the dillema I have. For the last 5 years I owned B&W speakers (the low entry DM303) with Rotel RA-971 int.amp and I really like the way it sounded.

My appreciation for B&W felt down 3-4 months ago when I changed the 303's for DM 602 S3 which in my naive opinion where supposed to sound much better. Indeed they sounded better in the store but unfortunately not in my home. I've done all possible tweaks and positions, I've changed the stands, add some furniture in the room and etc ... but the 602's do not come near to the soundstage and the warm and pleasant sound the small and cheap 303's produced.

And now while I'm still trying really hard to like the 602's I started considering changing them. And this time I'm considering going one step higher and reward myself with some more serious speaker. My room is 4 x 6 meters and with my unfortunate "602 adventure" I learned that smaller monitor speakers would produce much better results in my home.

My dillema is: B&W CM1 vs Dynaudio Audience 42 or maybe 52 (though they are bit more expensive, but more or less all three fit in the same price category).

I will surely base my decision on my own ears but I would really appreciate your more experienced opinion on this, even more because I can only have the B&W's on home audit session but not the Dynaudio's.

And for the final information my preferences are:
- 50% jazz, 30 % rock (including some harsh sounding music like Franz Ferdinand or even Ramstein), 20 % classical music.