Amp receiver questions

Username: Mnsiu

Post Number: 1
Before I listen to anything I was wondering in order to give me an idea of choices for picking an amp out is there a way to look at just the numbers to see if it is going to be enough power for the speakers that I have or if it is going to be to powerful enough. Right now I have for fronts definitive technology bp2006tl 19hz -30 khz 92db 250 watts 8 ohms and for my current a/v receiver I have a harman kardon av230 harman kardon
stereo mode 65 watts per channel
surrond modes
50 watts per channel
signal to noise ratio 95db
surround system adjacent channel separation
analog decoding 40db
pro logic,dolby digital 55db
dts 55db
right now I am not really concerned with the price of the amp I would just like a starting point I have used receivers and I am new to amps and would like to learn more about what to look for.
1. my first question is there a way by looking at these numbers to tell if I am utilizing my fronts to there best potential?
2. I am thinking about buying an amp in order to narrow my search down what should I be looking for in terms of db and watts to use with the 2006tl should I be looking for an amp that has the same specs for example 250watts and 92db?
3. I have also read that some people use there existing recevier and they will add an amp through the pre out on the receiver I was wondering if I went that rout I would just use a power amp and not an integrated amp and if I did go that rout would that change the numbers for the amp that I should be looking at?
4. could any also please explain the difference between a power amp and integrated amp.

Silver Member
Username: Daniel_canada

Canada

Post Number: 116
1. Yes and No.

2. Speakers don't have watts. And amps don't have db. So no. You can drive those speaks very well with a 50w intergrated or a 380w power amp. Those are efficient enough speakers for almost any unit to drive.