Need advice upgrading Project Debut II turntable

Username: Artemis

London

Post Number: 1
Has anyone had some listening experience with the Project Debut II turntable? This was my first turntable that I bought a few years ago, but I find that since upgrading my CD player, my vinyl now sounds noticeably worse than my CDs.

I listen to mostly classical and/or acoustic music. The Debut II does not give that much mid-tonal separation.

I think it might be time to upgrade the turntable, but I don't want to spend a huge amount on the upgrade - would a used Rega Planar 3 be a noticeable improvement, or would I have to shell out more?

And, since I am a TT newbie, how important are the tonearm and cartridge to the sound quality? Any tonearms/cartridges to recommend, and are there any to avoid too?

Any help appreciated!
artemis

Gold Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 1324
A Planar 3 would most definitely be an improvement, provided it has been taken care of! That's the problem with these devices. How do you know if it was cared for well?

Tonearm and cartridge are very important indeed. The Planar 3 came with an RB300 arm which is a very good value for money item. Rega also has a range of cartridges. I'm not a fan, but fitting them is a piece of cake which is always a good thing. That said, there are other brands and one entry level series I would look at would be the Ortofon 500 series of 4 cartridges (510 - 540). These all have the same body but have different styli. Given that the 540 is £140 and the 510 is £45, you can see that the stylus is very important too. Ortofons are slightly taller than Rega cartridges so you need to buy a 2mm spacer to fit under the arm. It's best to get a dealer to fit this for you (loads in London, UK).

The later P3 introduced a new motor and mounting for the motor. This makes an appreciable improvement in performance so if you can get a P3 it's worth it.

Regards,
Frank.

Gold Member
Username: Stu_pitt