Just Music!

Christina Radh
Unregistered guest
hey everyone,

im very new to all this, but as a self-respecting music fan i know i have to get a proper "system" and that I have to ultimately trust my own ears.

i just hope u guys will give me some love and help me narrow my search while i test the big, bad world of Audio in Dubai!

i live in an apartment (plenty of sunlight & air-conditioning!) and my living room is probably 18ft x 10ft.

Tiled floor. 6 ft French windows along one side. No drapes, no curtains, no rugs...just an L shaped couch, 2 coffee tables and art on the walls.

My musical tastes totally vary, although im very partial to Brit Pop & Punk Rock. Some of my fav albums, in no particular order, are:

Nevermind- Nirvana
London Calling- Clash
OK Computer- Radiohead
The Black Album- Jay Z
DSOTM- Pink Floyd
Best of- Marilyn Manson
Come With Us- Chemical Brothers
Parklife- Blur
*****es Brew- Miles Davis

If you were me and had US$ 3000ish to spend, what would your ideal combo be? Please list as;

1. Speakers
2. Amp
3. CD Player

Many thanks in advance, c

Gold Member
Username: Artk

Albany, Oregon USA

Post Number: 1975
Rotel RA 1062 integrated amp $700
Rotel RCD 1072 CD player $700
B&W DM 603 S3 speakers $1000 per pair

This setup leaves you money for buying new music or a competent sub. This setup should be very good for the kind of music you listen to. Good luck with your shopping.

Silver Member
Username: Twebbz

Ann Arbor, Michigan USA

Post Number: 256
You'll pay top dollar for Rotel and they ARE NOT available for sale on the internet. On the other hand the NAD C352 integrated amp ($599) & NAD C542 CD Player ($499) are excellent and you can find them at BELOW list prices at www.saturdayaudio.com. Check them out and call them for a price quote. By the way...To my ears, the NAD has a warmer sound than Rotel. I own both.

Gold Member
Username: Edster922

Abubala, Ababala The Occupation

Post Number: 2598