Need help in choosing Speakers

Username: Wrexel

Post Number: 1
hi all, i am a newbie in hifi and need help in speaker recommendations. currently using rotel ra-02 amp/ rcd-02 cdp and some hand me down japanese speakers. i find that the sound very lacking in emotion and sound staging is missing.

i listen mostly to vocals and musicals with the occasional pop/rock retro piece so warmth of sound is important and yes "bass" is important to me. the shop i brought from recommends epos m12.2... but i was looking at cheaper alternatives like ma bronze b-2. would prefer a set of bookshelves since my listening area is quite small... thanks!

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 1657
try looking at the Ascend Acoustics cbm 170. Excellent sounding speakers, with the qualities you seek.
cheers

Anonymous

Rotel is an excellent amp and carries a hefty price tag. To compliment your system I would try the Mobius loudspeaker by Artistic Audio. The MSRP is $3500, but you can get it for around $2800 through Canyonaudio.com. Check out the specs of the Mobius at artisticaudio.com.

If you're looking for something a little more affordable and want to wait until January, Studio-E will be releasing their new Series 310 line of home theater system speakers. Canyon Audio will be retailing these for around $800/pair. Thanks

Bronze Member
Username: Frank_abela

Berkshire UK

Post Number: 97
wrexel,

Personally, I think Anonymous is barking up the wrong tree. The Rotel components you have bought are in the $600 range each. Your dealer had it right when he suggested the EPOS speakers. They're very musical, pacey and enjoyable, but you must buy them with the EPOS stands. Any other stand just doesn't seem to work as well. I know, I've tried.

Alternatives would be:

Dynaudio Audience 42, another small bookshelf with a big punch, but not the larger Dynaudios which are too difficult to drive.

AVI Neutron 4: Tiny speaker with a very big heart.

Regards,
Frank.

Bronze Member