Kicker L7 what kind of power...

Ler Johnson
Ok i am a newbie, but please help me out.

I am looking into purchasing a kicker L7 10" 4 ohm sub. What kind of amp do i need (how do you find the real watts and do i want to have watts at the low end of the sub)? Do i need a passive crossover while i am still using the stock speakers? Will all receivers run this system? What enclosure should i look into?

Please any info would be useful

The L7 line is a nice line. The L7 10" 4 ohm sub can handle anywhere from 75-600 watts rms(continuous power) and will peak at 1200watts. if your only buying a single sub I suggest buying a mono amp to drive the sub. with the amount of money your dropping on the sub your beter off buying a quality amp to actually get the full potential use out of the sub, I would go with a kicker amp(my friend has an L7 12" and was using the kicker kx600). all you need though is 75 watts rms(rms rating is the continuous power rating. Just about any reciever should work, your always better off with a reciever that has seperate sub out and sub controllers, this allows you to control your sub volume from the front. Again as far as enclosures go, buy one that is made for that sub, its a square sub so i'm not sure how many are available(check what q-logic makes). For an amp suggestion try brigding the kicker kx300.2, that will run you sub at 300 watts rms. compare some prices at www.mysimon.com and crutchfield and see what you can get. good luck.

Samm naone
I have 1 12" L7 Kicker sub and I was wondering if the Kicker 600.1 amp would be the best amp for the job.

Anonymous
I would use a rockford bd 1000 for a 12 l7

B Bangin
I have a 2 solo 12" L7s and I have a memphis 1000d and it sounds like death comming out the trunk! My opinion would be to at least put about 500-600 on a 12, about 400-450 on a 10, depending on what kind of enclosure you use, sealed or ported. You can use less power with a ported enclosure.

killa b bangin