What ohms is this?

im_up_in_dis_here
Unregistered guest
so i gots 2 a-bahn's wif 2x 4ohms. and i got some boss 6x9 in boxes. the audiobahns are 1800w each, 900w per coil. cant i just wire the 6x9s into my deck?

how many ohms do i get if i just wire one coil from each sub to my amp (boss 2000w two-ch).? i wanna do this cuase i dont want too get 2 amps.

Silver Member
Username: Jaackdeth

United States

Post Number: 589
Just my opinion, I would do that, your HU isn't going to power the 6x9's like an amp would.

Silver Member
Username: Jaackdeth

United States

Post Number: 590
Just my opinion, I would'nt do that, your HU isn't going to power the 6x9's like an amp would.

Silver Member
Username: Basshead86

Ocala, FL USA

Post Number: 927
what is the RMS wattage on your boss amp?
and what is the model # on that audiobahn?

Bronze Member
Username: Tj80

Vancouver, BC Canada

Post Number: 30
I'm pretty sure wiring up only one coil per sub is a bad plan... I'm no expert, but I've heard people say it's bad for them.

You can make those two subs all be a single 4 ohm channel though... can you bridge your amp, and run it at 4 ohms bridged mono?

Just connect the two voice coils on each sub up in series, to make an 8 ohm load per sub. Then wire the 2 8 ohm subs in parallel. Back to 4 ohms.

Most 2 channel amps will run bridged @ 4 ohms.

Silver Member
Username: Rovin

Trinidad & T...

Post Number: 398
NEVER EVER wire up only 1 coil in a DVC sub - u will screw it up permanently . Everywhere u read about DVC they will tell u that - its like having a 4 cylinder engine & having the spark plugs connected to 2 cylinders .

U can however test if each coil is working with just a tiny amount of volume briefly if u wanna hear that its working .

What Muddy said - give model numbers on each item u intend to use .

Username: Tasattack

Post Number: 4