Headphone Recommendation?

Roger M
Unregistered guest
I'm a network admin who works in a room with about a dozen servers all containing fans, fans, and even more fans. There's always a hum in here that really drives you nuts after awhile. I'm looking for good sounding headphone and will drown out all this noise. I've never been able to keep in the type that go into a ears well so I'd prefer regular ones.

Comfort is important since I'd be wearing them all day. Sound is very important for the same reason. And of course the more of this noise they silence would be wonderful without me having to crank them up.

Cost... Not looking to spend 500, but also want something that's gonna do the job. I looked at the Bose ones and saw some very bad sound reviews on them so I thought I'd post it here.

Gold Member
Username: Illuminator

USA

Post Number: 2258
Aside from some chunkiness, the Sennheiser HD280PRO's would be a good choice. They are very comfortable and have a good sound. The best part is the sound isolation: I believe they silence external sound by 30dB.

Bronze Member
Username: Caldera

Post Number: 13
I suggest you check the Koss closed headphones, the best of these being the Pro 4 aa or whatever the designation is now.
I bought a highly rated Sennheiser open headphone and was extremely disappointed. I have been using many variations of the Koss titanium open headphones for about 7 years, and have been extremely satisfied with all of them. The bass is especially remarkable. I have not, however, tried the newer Pro 4s.
Plus, they have a lifetime warranty, minus a $6 replacement charge.

Username: Jaw891

Post Number: 3