The all famous question - Which camera

Unregistered guest
I am looking at getting a new camera. I know it is hard for people to answer the question which camera should I get, so I will list 4 that I am looking at and what I would like to do with it and hopefully I can get some helpful feedback:

1. Canon Digital Rebel XT (350D) - $949 CAD
2. Nikon D50 - $849 CAD
3. Olympus Evolt (E-300) - $849 CAD
4. Pentax *ist DL - $849 CAD

I initially intend on using it to learn about photography with different settings, etc. Also, I am not opposed to gadgets or learning post-processing, however it needs to have a "point & shoot" capability for my wife as she will definitly use it and has no interest in settings or editing in photoshop.

Ultimately, the main reason why I have started considering dSLR's is because I would like to progress into digital astrophotography.

Because I am a newbie, and have no interest in getting into photography as a career, budget is very important. I realize that I could get a really expensive specialty camera for astrophotography but I am not willing to dump that much money into it.

Any help would be great.

Gold Member
Username: Project6

Post Number: 4604
Check out this discussion

https://www.ecoustics.com/electronics/forum/photography/69132.html

Gold Member

Post Number: 4605
Personally, the only toss for me would be between the Canon (if Canon ever comes out with a Rebel replacement) and Nikon. I have no experience with the Olympus Evolt so I cannot make a fair assessment. The Pentax ist is no where near the same caliber as the Pentax of olden days. The AF function is very glitchy and cannot focus very well and seem to do an extended amount of hunting. Power hungry as well.

The Canon Rebel is a little older but it was king in its day. Very lightweight and excellent auto functions. However, I did not like its metering properties. Some did not like its overly toy like handling and its very plastic like appearance.