Nikon D70s Problems

Thread Last Poster Posts Last Post
Archive through October 08, 2006Berny100

Username: Traveller130

Post Number: 1
Hi guys, I am new to this, so please be nice. I have a D70s and just bought a 80-200mm f/2.8 ED lens. I first tried to fit the ED lens on the camera without locking the aperture to f22. As a result, I had an error on the camera. Realising this, I took off the lens, locked it to f22 and re-mounted the lens. Then, the camera went dead, unable to swith it on. I tested the battery and CF card, all were fine. Also tried the 18-70mm kit lens, still no power (top LCD panel did not show any signs of life). I tried the ED lens on a D50 and it worked fine. Eliminating all possibilities, the only problem I can deduct is either a faulty on/off switch or a mulfunciton/short circuit in the D70s body. Now my questions:
1. Has anyone else experienced the same problem?
2. Has anyone heard of a CPU lens short circuiting a digital SLR body (no one else have)
3. Where might I get it fixed (I bought the camera second hand, so no wanrranty) I live in Melbuorne, Australia, I've been told to go to the Camera Clinic, can anyone suggest some where else?
Thanks in advance
Bo

Username: Nairobian