Cannon ZR 40 and WIndows XP (Dell)

Username: Coolchristina

Yucaipa

Post Number: 3
Hi i posted before about connecting my Camcorder to my pc. I have gotten the DV cable but it doesn't fit into my camcorder I am very new at this. Do i need a another cable or another part for this. I dont know if my computer comes with a firewall. Pls post back if you can help or email me at darkangelofchaos18@yahoo.com

Silver Member
Username: Gromit

Post Number: 323
Christina,

What is the camcorder make and model number? Are you sure it is actually a DV type?

Normally, people say "I have the DV cable but can't see where to plug it into the computer". This is because all DV camcorders have a DV port, but most people need to buy a PCI or PCMCIA card to equip their computer with firewire. These cards normally come with a firewire cable and transfer/editing software.

It may be helpful for you to know that the terms "DV port", "firewire", "IEEE 1394" and "i-Link" are all basically interchangeable.

By the way, the DV port in most camcorders is under a small plastic flap that conceals it when not in use. This is to prevent moisture and dust getting in.

Let me know what happens next!

Cheers.

Silver Member

Post Number: 324
Whoops, I suppose the title of your thread gives me a clue about your camcorder model number:

This text: "The ZR40 has IEEE 1394 Firewire in and out for transfering your videos to and from your computer and camcorder plus analog in and outs."

can be found on this page: http://www.camcorderinfo.com/content/canon_zr40_camcorder_review.htm

So, at least your camcorder is firewire enabled. Now go check that PC!

Cheers.

Silver Member

Post Number: 325
Christina,