Steps to transfer video from handycam to PC via USB

Anonymous

Hi everybody!

If anyone interested to know how to capture video from sony dcr-hc40 handycam to pc via USB using windows movie maker, pls see:

Steps to transfer video from Sony HC40E Handycam to PC

Cheers!

Silver Member
Username: Gromit

Post Number: 115
Anonymous, thanks for the tip! I just have one comment: anybody who is interested in making home DVDs would probably be less than 100% satisfied with the pixel resolutions mentioned as achievable through this method.

If you uncover a way to reliably transfer full DV quality via USB, let us know!

Cheers.

Unregistered guest
I captured video thru my USB from my Panasonic DV Palmcorder (PV-GS14) into windows movie maker, but the picture quality isn't very good! It looks ok when playing it back on Media Player, but my end goal is to burn it on a DVD and I want the highest picture quality to the original that I can get. I'm new to all this..so a stupid question here...Are IEEE1394 cables all 4 pin to 4pin? My new Dell computer does not have a 4pin port, just USB ports. Any idea how I can transfer the video so the picture quality is not lost on my end product?

Silver Member

Post Number: 117
skijumpmom,

Normally, the firewire cable that connects PCs to DV cams has 6 pins at the PC end (larger connector) and 4 pins at the DV cam end (smaller connector). On laptops, the PC connector may also be the smaller type (presumably to save space). In the former case, you need a 6 pin to 4 pin cable, and in the latter, a 4 pin to 4 pin cable (obviously). Both are readily available and are normally supplied with the firewire card. In both cases, only a single port is required on the computer to connect the DV cam. Firewire PCI cards commonly have multiple firewire ports, but if (like me) you only ever connect one device, the other ports will never do anything other than gather dust.