Which amp should I buy for my subs?

Hamper
Hey,

I'm VERY new to car audio. I just decided to buy 2 Alpine SWE-1241 12" subs. I heard these at Circut City, and was blown away with their power. Thing is, it says their RMS is only 200W, and I don't see how that could possibly be. I remember them saying they could push a lot more than what the amp they were using was powering them with. I just don't see how 200W per speaker could rattle the outside walls of Circut City. It says it's max power is 600W. So what kind of amp should I get for these two? How much wattage will make the speakers as powerful as they were in the store, without having to worry about blowing them? What would you guys recommend to me? I don't have a lot of cash, so whatever can get the job done. Thanks,

Hamper

Anonymous
Alpine makes very efficient subs, you don't need much power to get big sound. If you think that 200 watts is measley, think again. I don't care what manufacturers today are advertising their amps to produce, very few are accurate. If you are looking to slam your 12" subs on little $$, watch Ebay and find an Alpine 3543. This amp is rated at 100w per channel but I had one of these amps driving four Savard 15" subs and hit 148db. I assure you I would have rattled the outside walls of Circuit city with 200 watts total power...I sure set off car alarms all around me! Check out www.justamps.com to get low prices on new stuff..

ace
man you need a rock ford fosgate 1000 watt amp with 2 channels. Man it wiil sound hella good and belive me you wont regret all the money you spent. then you will have lots of power left to add more speakers with out buying another amp. think about it.

later
ace,

David
Hey,