98 s10 extended cab SOUND SYSTEM

Username: Mattellermets

Danville, IL US

Post Number: 1
ok, i'm sort of ticked that i didnt find this site, ohh 2 days ago.

i used to have four 10's and a 12" in my truck, with a kenwood8101d amp. i sold this with the box to a friend for $400. not a bad deal either way, as i got the components pretty cheap and made the box. annyway, another friend from my school was obsessing all week about audiobahn audiobahn audiobahn. so i look on their site.. i find ridiculous prices and lots of ego talk about the brand, so i check out ebay and see the AW1208T's for like $300 for two. i think OK sounds great, bought them, then got (again recommended by same kid) a boss PD-3000 for under $200. so now i have around $500 of system coming in the mail. also i am considering running dual 4ga wire, since i already have enough to do this.. with out buying 0ga or anything. i should be set for wiring, i am studying to be an electrical engineer..
anyway, i get on here and start reading about the audiobahns... i begin having qualms. I'm not overflowing with cash, i mean i do OK but i'm a college student, what can i say. i begin to worry i wasted money, lots of horror stories with these speakers, a few people pleased nonetheless. i would like some input, preferably from someone in the know, eg. Glasswolf, etc.. i just need someone who isnt retarded and brand-blinded to give me some unbiased advice. what should i do? should i build the box i was planning on.. (somewhere in the 3 cu ft range for each 12" driver, slotted on top, with a latching flap for the slots, to convert from sealed to ported in a few seconds.. for windows up SPL testing/windows down night cruising... anyway should i waste the time doing that, then sell everything together to someone who thinks it looks/sounds like 600 dollars, or sell them in their boxes?

-thanks a lot, matt