Couple quesitons..share your input my friends !

Bronze Member
Username: Symplestiles

Stockton, CA Usa

Post Number: 70
ok once i get my system hooked up, ill be runnin 600 watts to the subs (BP600.1 to 2 12" vmaxs) my question is how much do you think a new alt. is gonna run me because im pretty sure everyone would agree ill need a new one, and also, how can i tell what my box is tuned to? what information is needed? thanks alot guys, your help has been fantastic so far, keep it comming!

Bronze Member
Username: Ffxdevilarms

Post Number: 76
I am really new to car audio, but if all you have is 600 watts and you need a new alt. then the one you have now must be made for a remote control car or something because 600 should not draw all the power from your alt. Also, personally id ont think you should go and get a new alt in any case unless you are exactly positive that you will need one.

Silver Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 179
only way youll have a problem is if you have like a 60 amp alternator or something

Bronze Member

Stockton, CA Usa

Post Number: 71
haha i think standard for my GMC truck is like 100amps. so i wont need a new alt? thats awesome. i thought someone posted on one of my other threads saying that 600watts would make my lights dim off and on meaning theres not enough power..but who knows. thanks alot fellas. but does anyone know about box tuning and how i can see what mines tuned too?

Silver Member
Username: Jayj

Louisiana USA

Post Number: 454
You will prolly need a new alternator. I have a 01 Chevy Silverado that (had) a 110amp alternator and I still had to put in a new 160amp. Is your truck fully loaded?? As far as the tuning you will need to know the Cubic Airspace of the enclosure also the diameter of the tube and the length of it also. Good Luck

Silver Member

Post Number: 187