3 L7 12S 3 KICKER 1200.1 WHAT KIND OF POEWER IS THAT DO I NEED ANYTHING SPECIAL

Unregistered guest
OK I GOT A GRADN MARQUIS 94 LS IM PUTTING 3 12 INCH L7S AND 3 1200.1 FOR ALL OF THEM FOR NOW. MIGHT UPGRADE THE SUBS SOON IF I DONT LIKE THEM CAN ANYBODY TELL ME ABOUT THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WHAT WILL I NEED TO MAKE THIS WORK DO I NEED ANYTHING SPECIAL ANY HELP WOULD BE GREAT IM A NOOB

Username: Glasswolf

Post Number: 364
If you mean JBL BP1200.1 amplifiers, and you're using three of them, with a 2 Ohm load on each amp to produce 1200wRMS per sub, that means you're talking 330A of current, max, from the combined amplifiers.
you'll need an alternator capable of producing at least 400A of current to supply all three amplifiers, and the car's own demands beyond that.
Add to that any amps used for components.
you're probably talking at least two 200A alternators, or a 200A and a 270A together.
That will require some custom mounting work.
you'll need 1/0AWG cable for this throughout, split down to 4AWG for each amp at teh amp locations.
if you plan to run the system without the engine on, you'll want to consider battery isolators, and a bank of Optima yellow top RG deep cycle batteries for the task.

I hope you have a lot of money to sink into this.

Username: Fillymo

Post Number: 10
Arent 1200 watt rms too much for a L7 12 .. They only run 750 rms

Post Number: 370
yup I was going to mention that, but didn't bother.
3 JL 500/1 amps, or something in the 700-800 watt range would be more ideal.

Unregistered guest
ok i was thingking about gettin the kicker 1200.1 for my woofers.are tehre ways to turn downt he power from the amp so im not giving it 1200 watt rms at 1 ohm or whatever glasswolf do u have any idea on how much this would cost me to do the 3 l7 and the 3 1200.1 i mean the cost fo all the extra parts to make it work also would it be cheaper for me to get 2 13w7s or 12w7s and a 2 jl amps in the long run with all the extra parts and stuff let me know thanks