BMW 316 speaker plan??

Username: Basher69

Post Number: 1
Hi, newbie here, I have a BMW 316i coupe 1995.

I know I can put 6x9 in the rear shelf, but can anyone tell me what size speakers I need for the doors and the front foot well and will I need adapters to fit them.

I have a Magnat Century 780 amp (4x130w + 1x260w output). Can anybody suggest some speaker plans to go for? On a smaller budget and not looking for massive volume, jsut a nice sound.

Lastly what is the difference between Peak power and RMS power. So if my amp is 130w per channel, what peak and Rms am I looking for?

Thanks for any help in advance}

Gold Member
Username: Kaerfpl

Spencerport, NY USA

Post Number: 1408
Hey there James. Just out of curiosity, where did you find out that a 6x9" Speaker will fit in the Rear Shelf? Are you assuming that they are 6x9" or did you physically look and pull out the Speaker and it was a 6x9" Speaker?

Only reason why I ask, is because after doing some research, the Speaker Sizes for this vehicle goes as followed:

Kick Panel: 5.25" Speaker
Front Door: 3.5" Speaker
Rear Shelf: 4" Speaker

I checked out the BMW Forums, and it appears that a 6.5" Speaker can be fitted into the Rear Shelf, however it requires some fabrication to do so. I did not run into any threads or documents that stated a 6x9" will be able to fit normally...

As far as your other questions goes, the Kick Panel may require some fabrication or a new custom Kick Panel to be installed, depending on what type of Speaker you purchase. If you are not interested in doing custom work or buying a new Kick Panel, I would suggest pulling out the stock Speaker, measure the depth, and look into a new aftermarket Speaker off that information.