Box tuning "help"

Silver Member
Username: Rosrock

Michigan

Post Number: 565
ok, im gettin a box made for my 15" ht pro blackout(and ill jus use it for the other one i got comin to) and i went to the shop, planning on tuning it at 32-33 for SQ and lows. Now im not a box expert, but hes saying i should have it tuned at like 38 and that it wont hurt sq and that most music doesnt go below 40. But i like to FEEL the bass, so wouldnt tuning at 38 kinda jeapordize that? He goes "ur not worried about how loud its going to be"? well, even tuned at 32-35 itll still be loud enough im sure. Anyways, give me some input, and what ud do.

Silver Member

Michigan

Post Number: 567
o yea, and i also have my lpf set to 50 hz if that matters, cause i think anything above that is ugly

Silver Member
Username: Cwruck

Post Number: 400
most music does not in fact go below 40 hz, some does but not most hip hop. but there is cabin gain, and your peaks are going to be much higher than your tuning. i dont think the guy quite understands all that. im sure he has no idea how to build a box to suit a specific sub.
38 hz you will still feel the bass, but lower will really let you feel the bass on those low notes.

Gold Member
Username: Dustin3

Box Designer & Builder...Dustin

Post Number: 5717
I would tune lower. Go for 33 hz. Sounds like he doesn't really know how enclosures work :p

Silver Member

Michigan

Post Number: 568