Just a general OT QnA?

Silver Member
Username: 420pimp2

Baltimore Atlantic Ci..., MD, NJ

Post Number: 982
Most of you guys really know your sh.it when it comes to audio. I'm a novice and still learning 4 years in the making.

I was just curios as to how many people here do audio for a profession or hobby? If so were you schooled or self taught? Also how many years experience do you have? Are you an audio O.G.!
Fill us in

Gold Member
Username: Southernrebel

Monroe, Louisiana Team Audible...

Post Number: 8138
I have been working at a shop for 2.5yrs, been messing around w/ 12v Audio for 8yrs (since I was 16). Been competing in USACi SPL for 7yrs....used to build boxes online and ship them out to make $ for weekend trips to USACi shows.

No formal training, just hands-on experience.

Silver Member
Username: Gcs8

Atlanta, Ga

Post Number: 886
i got my first car, (that was all mine.) the radio was c.r.a.p. and so where the speakers, didn't know how to take door panels off back then so i just cut holes in the panels to get in. started adding amps but they where installed for me but i was watching very closely, asked lots of questions, watched them blow up alot of my equipment, watched them make a big fire hazard out of my car. then i decided i could do my own work. so the past 4 years i have been doing all my own installs as well as for my friends. nothing has died besides 1 fuse.

Silver Member
Username: Jemone

Tucker, Georgia United States

Post Number: 374
I started some years ago by going to shops and watching people install.I gradually picked up a little more knowledge Now i can due simple installations such as radios ,amps, kill switches ,car alarms( most times the two go hand in hand now) remote start etc. BUT I HAVE TO HAVE A SCHEMATIC. I almost got a chance to become a sales guy at one audio shop, but it unfortunately became defunct. Now here I am. I have one unfortunate draw back, and that is my limited experience with some audio brands.

Silver Member