Car audio for a dummy.

Username: Chevy4u

Dallas, Tessas United States

Post Number: 1
I'm brand new to car audio. I have 2 12' memphis street edge subs on a 1000 watt amp. My first system. It was cool for like 2 days. I want something alot better. I would like 2 12' fi btl subs. I know I'm going to have to upgrade everything. (Electrical, amp, so on...) but I'm still quite clueless. Could someone tell me everything I need to run this system. I'm talking batteries, alternator's etcetera.. It's going in a 95' Silverado extended cab. Under the back seat. Appreciate the help in advance.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Lexington, SC USA

Post Number: 13507
first, the BTL is an SPL event sub. It's designed to be as loud as possible for one-note burp events in sanctioned competitions. It isn't really designed to sound good musically. Are you sure this is the sub you want?

Next, you would not have nearly the needed room under the seats of a pickup for a pair of BTLs since you'd need to go ported or bandpass to use them properly, which means at least 5 cubic feet or more of volume.

Post Number: 2
Bro I appreciate the help. Now I'm going to bug you lol. So what would be the hardest hitting subs that could go under the seats in a extended cab? To answer your question though, I don't care for sound quality THAT much. Maybe when I get older I will. I certainly don't need an SPL since it's going to be for daily use. I just want to slap the heck out of my truck.

Platinum Member

Lexington, SC USA

Post Number: 13512
yeah you want an all around workhorse of a sub, and I get that.
My first choice (because I'm a fan of Fi) is the Fi SSD.
If you need something cheaper, the Alpine Type R is a good choice.

Measure under the seats in back and see what sort of room you have for a box (LxWxD) and tell me how many cubic feet you can get in a box under the seats (total or per sub)