Dissapointed with w7

Bronze Member
Username: Souleraser

Post Number: 40
I recently bought a 12w7 and a JL Slash 1000/1 amp. I also ordered a custom made box for the 12w7. The specs of the box according to the builder are: 1.9 cu. ft. after all displacement and tuned to 30 hz. I hooked everything up and was very dissapointed. It hit pretty hard, but the bass didnt go as low as I though it would. I'm comparing this setup with my previous one which consisted of a 600 watt sony Xplod amp and a Rockford Fosgate P312 in a 1.79 cu. ft box(I think that was the volume) which I know hit lower than this and produced better quality sound.

Is 1.9 cu. ft. too big for a 12w7? JL recommends 1.7 cu. ft.

Should it have been tuned to 32 hz instead of 30 hz as JL recommends?

I told the box builder I wanted 1.9cu.ft. tuned @ 30 hz for my box because I wanted the low lows. Amp settings are correct, Im not a newbie on this, but this is the first box I have gotten built.

I've spent over $1000 on this setup.

Please help.

Gold Member
Username: Southernrebel

Monroe, Louisiana Team Audible...

Post Number: 8026
Get measurements. Port size and length, box external dimensions.

Also, any way you can get some pics of the box?

Gold Member
Username: Dustin3

Box Designer & Builder...Dustin

Post Number: 5556
x2 ^^^

Bronze Member

Post Number: 41
I'll get the measurements and post some pictures by tomorrow.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Lexington, SC USA

Post Number: 13369
http://www.glasswolf.net/papers/hoffman.html

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 657
The box mine is in is 2 cubic feet after all displacements and it gets plenty low. Mine is only seeing half that power and it gets extremely loud and low no problem. What kind of car/truck is this in?

Silver Member

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 658