Sub woofer recommendations

Username: Arnotjie

Post Number: 4
Hi, I'm quite new to the whole car audio thing, so I don't know a lot of brands (mainly commercial like JL Audio, Kicker, Polk, etc.). I recently found out about Fi audio, and I'm really interested in the Q12. What do you guys think about it, And how is it in comparison to a JL W3 for instance? Do you have any other recommendations in that price range? I'm not interested in entering competitions, so I'm mainly focussing on SQ subs.

https://ssl.perfora.net/www.ficaraudio.com/sess/utn154bc95f94214a5/shopdata/0050 _Speakers/0030_Q/product_overview.shopscript

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12975
what sort of competitions do you plan to enter?

I'm a sound quality competitor, and I use a Q18, myself. The Fi Q is a superior SQ sub to the JL W3, though both are targeted at the SQ market. The Fi Q is highly linear even at high excursion. It has a great BL curve, meaning very good motor control for tight, detailed and accurate reproduction of bottom octave music frequencies.
It's a great sub. It has better power handling capacity than the W3 by far, and performs well in a myriad of settings, including just about all box types, depending on the QTS option you choose for the sub.

If you want an all around sub for daily music use, and want something that takes more abuse/power, and gets louder, look at Fi's SSD subs, instead.

Post Number: 7
Thanks.
I'm n0t really interested in entering competitions, But I would like a sub with good SQ for music that I can use everyday at normal listening levels (I don't want to see how much my mirrors can vibrate). Will the Q12's be able to cope with everyday use, or is it strictly a competition sub?

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 534