What Exactly Does Tuning Your Sub Box Mean ?

Bronze Member
Username: Foong_one

Post Number: 41
i bought a new Bassworx 12" Ported Box that says tuning is 42 Hz. Does this mean that i need to TURN my sub's crossover setting to 42 Hz on my headunit ? Somebody, please advise.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12946
oh god. 42Hz is high. It's going to sound very boomy.

that said, here:
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/prt/

In a ported box, the port makes the enclosure more efficient at the tuned frequency, so at (in your case) 42Hz, the box will be about +3dB louder in the car. You will need a subsonic filter set to 42Hz as well, to protect the sub from unloading and being damaged.

Platinum Member

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12947
http://www.bcae1.com/spboxad1.htm

Bronze Member

Post Number: 42
i still don't get it. So, what exactly am i supposed to do ? Sorry, i'm a real noob to car audio. So, somebody please tell me: should i turn my subwoofer x-over frequency on my headunit to 42 Hz ? Should i set my monoamp x-over frequency to 42 Hz ? Should i just leave it alone ? Etc., etc.

Platinum Member

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12968
adjusting the tuned frequency of a subwoofer enclosure is done by changing the length of the port slot or tube(s) used in the enclosure.
It has nothing to do with the settings on the amplifier.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 43
Okay. Thank you. So now, where can i find my subsonic filter so i can set it to 42 Hz as well ?

Platinum Member

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12971
that setting will actually be on the amplifier, if it has such a filter. not all amplifiers come with one.

it'll probably have a setting from maybe 16-50Hz. It's not the "LPF" or low pass filter that's used to set where the sub amp starts playing, though. Don't confuse them.
It'll be called something like a subsonic or infrasonic filter.

Platinum Member

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12972
what amp do you use for the subs?