New here, would appreciate help. thanks

Username: Zd8840

Post Number: 1
Ok so im new to the whole speaker thing, and ive always heard of kickers and how good they are... blah blah blah. So i was planning on getting some and i found this deal that i thought was pretty sweet (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/KICKER-08-DS12L7-DUAL-12-SUB-BOX-S12L7-CAR-SUBWO OFERS_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQhashZitem1e5b3bed40QQitemZ130379672896QQptZCarQ5fAudioQ5 fVideo)
but ive been reading on here that their are better subs out there for around the same price. i have 600$ and want to make the most of that. i just got a 06 honda civic coupe and wanted some subs and a amp for it, so i would love some help on finding whatever would be best with the budget that i have. I kinda figured on getting 2 12's, but a friend told me that 1 15 would be better because it can hit lower beats and all that. oh and ive read alot of other posts and people start nameing alot of different brands and such, but i would kinda just like someone to tell me what would be best for me. thanks guys

Silver Member
Username: Skdooley

Roanoke, VA Usa

Post Number: 521
How a sub hits is going to depend on the sub itself, if it is a SQ or SPL sub, and mainly the enclosure it is in. If you wanted tighter, punchier bass you would go sealed, if you wanted deeper bass, or louder bass you would go ported. It is also going to depend on how much power the subs are seeing as well. Many factors play into it. For a decent budget system that will perform well I'd recommend an AQ1200D and either a set of Alpine type Rs or Fi SSDs. I'd recommend the Fi SSDs mainly because I feel they arn't as common as the alpines and they do very well. Kicker makes decent amps but I would not recommend their speakers. As you mentioned, for the money there are other choices to go with.

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12919
OK let's see where to begin with this.