Help with type r subs

Username: Turbo_mustang12

Post Number: 1
So im building a party bus and decided to go with type r 12's. I wanna get 4 12's and wire them to a 1 ohm load. Which model do I need is it the 1222d or the other model? Also if I decided to go with 3 instead of 4 is it the same model if I want to wire it to a 1 ohm load? Im gonna be using a hifonic bxi2006d which is 2000 watts would this anp be able to push 4 of them? Thanks in advance

Bronze Member
Username: Bloodforge

Post Number: 19
I believe wiring up the 2ohm DVC's to show a 4ohm load for each sub by running the dvc's in series would put total down to 1 ohm with 4 of them ran in parallel to the amp? This would be the 1222D
I believe with 3 of them you would need the 1224D, and even then I don't believe you would be able to get exactly 1ohm
Don't quote me on that, I'm still a noob on wiring.
No Clue about the amp's abilities tho

Gold Member
Username: Kyle_lowe

Post Number: 1016
sounds right to me
plus i confirmed it with this
Upload

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12904
why a 1 ohm load? why not 2 ohms?

the lower the load, the more THD, and the lower the S/N ratio. The less reserve pwoer you'll have, too. The only real advantage to lower loads is really more power (sometimes) but there are a lot of drawbacks.

Post Number: 2
That was my next question so if a 1 ohm load isnt good then what is? A 2 ohm load? and what model type r's do I get if im doing a 2 ohm load? I need to buy these this week so which is the best way to go? Im gonna get this amp now Hifonics BXi 2610D its 2600 watts at 1 ohm and 1700 and 2 ohms would this do the job for 4 type rs? So which is it 1 0hm or 2 ohms with theHifonics BXi 2610D. Thanks

Gold Member
Username: Kyle_lowe

Post Number: 1019
glasswolf, if he is getting that hifoincs amp he would need to use a 1 ohm load to fully power those subs