Times have changed

Username: Nevadaguy

Post Number: 1
Anyhow, I was into bass back when I was 17/18 years old. I am 35 now. When I was a kid I owned 4 12" kicker solobarics (first rendition) and 2 1000w Linear amplifiers (if anyone remembers Linear). That system hit pretty hard. I recently purchased a kicker comp vx 10" and a R5001 fosgate prime amp (I wanted a little bit of bass). That little system produces more than the $7000 system I had years ago...Why?? (I am new to the game again)

Post Number: 2
Anyhow, to complete my message. The solobarics ended up getting stolen, so I lost interest. I did NOT want this much bass with the new system -- just something nice. I have a civic del sol. The install guy was extremely surprised at the SPL coming out of that little woofer and said it had to be because of the acoustics of the vehicle. How has technology changed so much as to allow a 10" to sound better/louder than 4 12" solo's back in the day? It literally makes my vision fuzzy....Some nice input would be great -- and yes, I am a noob all over again.

Gold Member
Username: Frkkevin

Team DLSSuperNatural...

Post Number: 7551
seems likely your old setup was an install issue rather than equipment

having a small car does help

Post Number: 3
The old install was done by "professionals" and not by myself. I don't remember much, as this was 18 years ago, but I do know that it was a bandpass box -- I think something along the lines of a 5th order -- I know it was tuned for a specific frequency. What I did not mention is that this new little setup tested at a db level of around 150 (he tested in the shop). This doesn't seem right, because the amp does not get hot, the speaker doesn't look like it is doing a ton of work, and there is NO distortion at all, yet I can hear the damn thing 1/2 a mile down the road. Any thoughts?

Gold Member
Username: Frkkevin

Team DLSSuperNatural...

Post Number: 7552