>>> Tuning Frequency Help

Silver Member
Username: Boston_spl

Highland, CA United States

Post Number: 149
Alright, here it is. I have a Kicker CompVX 15" (dual 2ohm) sub, (I know, Kicker sux balls, I agree, but I bought this sub like 3yrs ago, B4 I knew better. Plus, I got it for $149, new, from an authorized dealer).

Anyway, it's still brand new in the box & I'm finally ready to build an enclosure for it to replace my Orion P2 12" that I'm currently using. (BTW, it'll be going in a '97 Cadillac DeVille & it's being powered by a Crossfire VR1000D (if it matters).

According to the owner's manual, ideally, the proper ported enclosure is; 5cu.ft. with a slotted port tuned to 29Hz. My question is, does this sound right? I mean, I know Kicker says it is, but they also say that I can put it in a 1.8cu.ft. sealed box & it'll perform just fine. Now I'm no expert, but I don't know if a small sealed enclosure is a good recommendation for a 1,000w (supposedly) 15" sub. I'm thinking that the volume seems a bit large and the tuning frequency seems a bit low (though I could be wrong).

So, any advice on enclosure size and tuning frequency would be greatly appreciated. Also, space isn't much of an issue, as I have a large trunk. Oh, and I'm going for SPL (Obviously. Especially with Kicker & a large ported box, I don't expect great SQ, lol).

Thanks again guys.

Silver Member
Username: Simple_smith

Lapeer, Michigan United States

Post Number: 370
15" subs generally are about 3-5cu.ft.
and most people turn kicker subs to ~35hz

Platinum Member
Username: Glasswolf

Columbia, SC USA

Post Number: 12716
I responded to this in the Speakers forum.

Silver Member

Post Number: 150
Thanks Glass, I read your response in "speakers". Very helpful.