I Can't Find The Drum Beat

Silver Member
Username: Silvermopar

Nebraska

Post Number: 162
It seems that I have excess bass from the electric guitar and a shortage of bass from the drum. I've been listening to another stereo and noticed that mine is definatly missing the punch of the kick drum.

I'm sure my equiptment is not the best, but I'm sure there is a way to reduce electric guitar and boost the drum.

My HU is a Clarion DXZ785USB, I believe it is a decent HU but I can't seem to figure out where to set the settings to make the proper adjustment. Also I have the SUB-Sonic turned on on my zx750 and the crossover setting around 50, the gain a little beyond half.

Silver Member
Username: Simple_smith

Lapeer, Michigan United States

Post Number: 233
Hmm... I'm no expert on amps, but i would think you could tune the low pass on your amp differently to get rid of the guitar bass

i hope that was almost helpful lol

Silver Member

Nebraska

Post Number: 163
Well, it seems almost like I'm filtering out the wrong frequency. I under stand electronics somewhat, and a little about frequency. But I seem to be unable to understand and master the controls.

Silver Member
Username: Simple_smith

Lapeer, Michigan United States

Post Number: 234
i know i have a couple songs where it seems like the drums and the guitar bass are kinda competing for the same frequency, but i don't listen to them enough to start trying to tune my amp differently.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/musical-instruments/32205-bass-guitar-frequency-r ange.html
this says that a bass guitar can go down to like 31Hz, so maybe my theory about competing for low notes could be right...

or i could be totally wrong

Silver Member

Nebraska

Post Number: 164