Amp help for w7's

Username: Newbie111

Post Number: 5
Just bought a w7 12 sub and plan on buying another really soon. What amp should I use that will power both subs and my 6x9's and 6x5 component system? Or should I have a seperate amp for the subs and seperate for the mids and highs?

Gold Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 1721
2 amps will be the best sollution.. have you done any electrical upgrades to your vehicle (ie. HO alt, batts, big 3). if not then you will need to to run that much power for subs and speakers.

whats your vehicle?
whats your budget?
whats the specs of the box your w7 is currently in?

Post Number: 7
Abarca, thanks for the response. I have done no electrical upgrades to my car. What do you mean by (ie. HO alt, batts, big 3).
Im a newbie to aftermarket car audio. I have an 86 Cadillac Fleetwood. My budget is flexible, however, I would like to stay in the 500 to 600 range for both. I still have the sub in the manufacturers box from the store. I am piecing this system together piece by piece but the specs for the box according to JL Audio website is:

Nominal Diameter 12in./305mm
Diameter Overall 12.5in./318mm
Diameter Mounting Hole 10.5./267mm
Diameter Bolt Hole Circle 11.27in./286mm
Diameter Magnet 7.5in./191mm
Diameter Mounting Depth 9.5in./241mm

I hope these make sense, as I got them from the website. Again Im very new to this and want to make sure I do things right, for a kick a** system.

Silver Member
Username: Poprocks

Post Number: 207
http://www.bcae1.com/

Gold Member
Username: Carguy

Post Number: 6949
You can't use one amp for powering JL W7 and front/rear speakers. Don't go cheap on the amps either. Since you've made a big investment on the sub, save up and buy a proper amp. Orion/PPI/Xtant/RF/JL all should have enough power for W7. The thing to watch out for is the ohms. W7 is 3ohms @ 750w rms.