Clipping?

Bronze Member
Username: Wackzirth88

K-town, Il U.S.

Post Number: 28
im a noob to the sub game. someone said an amp was clipping. im jus wonderin what is that? explain in terms a noobie can understand

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego, California

Post Number: 5130
Hard to explain easily but...

It is called clipping because when an amplifier is sent a signal with more voltage or current than it's power supply can produce, it "clips" the top of the sine wave off, which then becomes square wave distortion. Basically speaking -- clipping occurs anytime an amplifier is sent a signal it cannot supply enough current to reproduce.

Note the clean peaks in the first pic below and then the same waveform, but clipped, in the last pic. An example of the sound of this type of distortion (although obviously at a much higher level) would be when a rock guitarist intentionally clips his amps output by overdriving the pre-amp, and sending either a vacuum tube or transistor more voltage then it can cleanly reproduce. Another example of clipping is when you turn a clock radio higher than its amp (and/or speakers) can handle.

Loudspeaker clipping is kind of similar. When a driver is sent more current then its voice coil can handle, any energy that is not converted into sound is absorbed as direct current into the voice coil, which produces immense heat. This is how most voice coils are fried.

Upload
Upload

Diamond Member
Username: Wingmanalive

Www.stainles... .ecrater.com

Post Number: 20416
In a nutshell set your gain right and turn dat sh1t down.

Bronze Member
Username: Wackzirth88

K-town, Il U.S.

Post Number: 30
thanks for the info its not my amp tho. its my buddies. he blew a L7(750 rms) with a legacy predator amp (600rms)..and someone told me he blew it cuz his amp was clippin.....

Diamond Member

Post Number: 20418
Clipping can occur at any wattage.