Light dimming?

Username: Camdry90

Sudbury, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 6
When i get the Alpine type x with the pdx 1.1000 amp installed into my 03 jetta will my lights dim when the bass hits? I was also wondering about rattling... will i need a lot of Dynamat? What are my options for light dimming if it does occur?

Gold Member
Username: Surferdude9371

Get loud or go home....

Post Number: 1628
with that power id say the gain may be set wrong if not get a high output alt

Sudbury, Ontario Canada

Post Number: 7
sorry dude i'm a car audio noob, what do you mean the gain may be set wrong? and how much would a high output alternator cost?

Gold Member
Username: Hittin1

TEAM REVOLUTIONLake Charles...

Post Number: 2322
disregard P.ricks post... Wait until you get the system installed. No one knows for sure how bad your lights will dim. Your car should be able to handle 1000 wrms with stack alt.

dynamat wouldn't hurt but again i would wait to see how severe the rattles are gonna be.

Gold Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 1388
i with mark, i like the "wait n see" approach.

just wait til everything is installed and then assess the problems, if there are any

Silver Member
Username: Wickedbass

Nashville, Tn

Post Number: 385
^^^Yup, just wait untill its all installed. Fix problems as they come up.

Platinum Member
Username: Wingmanalive

A pic is worth 1000 posts!!

Post Number: 19715
I'll betcha that Jetta has a small alt and batt. Well maybe not a bet but more like a guess. How you use that 1000w in conjunction with your current charging system will determine any dimming. How many amps is your alt and how big of a battery?

If you can prevent a problem why wait for failure to fix it? Sometimes that's the more expensive route.

Silver Member
Username: Wickedbass

Nashville, Tn

Post Number: 386