Sub Comparison

Username: Cepedamarc

Post Number: 1
Hi, I'm pretty new to professional car audio, and I'd like to get a broader answer regarding the differences between two particular subs I'm looking into.

The first is the Kenwood KFC-W3011 (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_113W3011/Kenwood-KFC-W3011.html?tp=111&tab=features _and_specs), and the other is a Rockford Fosgate P1S412 (http://www.crutchfield.com/p_575P1S412/Rockford-Fosgate-P1S412.html?tp=111&tab=f eatures_and_specs).

Now, I know neither of these subs is a great sub by most standards, but I'd like to start off slow before dumping a few hundred or a few thousand into a real solid high-end system.

Basically, I'm a bit confused as to which will sound better/louder (I'm more into SPL than SQ).

The KW's have a higher RMS but also a higher Fs, whereas the RF's are rated at less than half the RMS but have a much lower Fs.

Now I know that enclosure and the chosen amp will play a significant role here, so let's say I'd use an amp depending on the chosen sub (i.e. 400W RMS for the KW, and 150W RMS for the RF).

The enclosure is something I'd possibly be building, but to know what the specs would be, I'd have to pick one of these subs first. Let's just say I'd go with the recommended figures listed in the specs.

So...which is the better sub? What exactly does Fs mean as far as enclosure/port tuning?

Again...sorry, but I am new and AM trying to learn.

Gold Member
Username: Talon01

Team Revolution , Pa Usa

Post Number: 1929
for the price you are paying there is better.
http://www.audioque.com/aq/SD2_Series.htm
a great entry level sub that gets loud and still sounds good

Post Number: 2
I'm sure I could get better subs for my money, but that's not what my post is about. I'm trying to determine the significant difference between two subs that are priced very similarly but have significant power rating and Fs differences.