New Box Build

Bronze Member
Username: Racerdude15

Indianapolis, Indiana USA

Post Number: 14
ok, im planning on building a box for my truck, a 93 chev single-cab.
i am goin to build it as large as possible, but i want it to hit lows and im a beginner and dont know what type or size of ports i need.

i have 2 kicker impulse 12s that were free
and a power acoustic 980 peak amp (550 rms)--supposedly

i just dont want to waste a bunch of wood....thanks in advance for any help

Username: Blkbville04

Monclova, Ohio US

Post Number: 5
Well I believe that the kicker impulses are only rated at 150 watts so I would turn that amp wayyy down unless you wanna blow them. And as for the box you wont need to go big they only require about 2 cubic ft per sub. If you want lows your going to want to go with a ported enclosure. The ideal size would be aboue 32 inches wide, 15 inches deep and 15 inches wide and that should give you what you want its the right amount of cubic ft, and for the port you can just do an L style port, just look at some premade boxes to get an idea for your port

Gold Member
Username: Hittin1

Lake Charles, La. United States

Post Number: 1811
Ummmmmmmmmmmmm... WTF??
"and for the port you can just do an L style port, just look at some premade boxes to get an idea for your port"

UMMMMMMMMM no.... The port need to be properly calculated to the desired tuning is achieved..

Monclova, Ohio US

Post Number: 6
he said he just wanted to hit lows, he never said he wanted a certain frequency to be tuned to. god damn people on here are rude, hes a beginner, i was giving him an idea

Gold Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 1347
"he said he just wanted to hit lows"

so make a big box with an L-shaped port?that doesnt make sense at all. Mark was just tryin to say that the info you gave him really wasnt the correct info to give to a beginner.

To the OP,