New here and need some help

Username: A26rock

Tallahassee, Florida

Post Number: 1
Hey Guys

Im not totally new to car audio but I haven't messed with it in years, i.e...Im old!

Ive been building a 1956 chevy pickup street rod for several years and finally getting around to the interior. I am going to put a little system in it, I have a Kenwood double-din DVD player that im going to put in a custom built center console and then from there im lost. I am mainly looking for SQ and dont want to spend a ton of money since the truck may be driven 6 times a year for a couple of hours at a time. What I plan to do is run a set of 10" subs behind the seats and a set of 6.5 components in the front kick panels with no door speakers, 2 amps, one for the Subs and one for the front end. I know everyone has their own favorties but can someone give me some advice since theres tons more audio out there now than when I used ot mess with it? I was thinking on quick glance maybe some Diamond Audio subs and comps but know nothing about them. Have no earthly idea on amps.

Thanks for schooling the old guy.

Gold Member
Username: Basssquared

Kansas

Post Number: 2373
for 10" Sq subs you could look into the following

Fi Q
SSA Icon
RD Sonance
JL w6

idk what else but thats somewhere to start looking

Gold Member
Username: Deadrabit

Marionville, MO

Post Number: 1044
how much power r u wanting to run them at

Gold Member
Username: Van_man

Boston South, MA

Post Number: 4428
The diamond comps are a good choice. Look into the hexes. S600s.
As far as the subs, Im thinking JL W3's. As far as amps, You realy have to nail down what subs, comps your going to run so you can match the amp.

Tallahassee, Florida

Post Number: 2
Yea that was pretty much what I was thinking is that I needed to figure out the speakers first and then try and match a good amp to them.

Gold Member
Username: Talon01

Team Revolution , Pa Usa

Post Number: 1756