Please help with my Amp Installation

Hey, im new to hooking up amps and what not, and my stuff is kinda old, but never used... i have a rockford fosgate punch 100 ix dsm amp (thats what it says on the amp, i no nothing else beside that) and a rockford fosgate punch 15 inch speakers... i have 2 of those but i think i only want to install one... can someone please tell me how to install it to my stereo?

Robby D.
Please?

Matt N.
hey Rob,

Looks like others won't so I will....

first of all, you will need to determine where you want to place the amp in the vehicle. Try to make it a place where it won't have to be moved alot and where it has a decent amount of airspace around it to dissipate the heat well. A good place is in the trunk near the speaker (assuming you have a trunk - not sure if its a car, truck, or otherwise).

Next you will need to run a good power wire from the battery to the amp. Make sure that you put an inline fuse on this wire, just in case the wire should short to the body of the car. Also make sure that your wire is heavy duty enough for the amperage. Those older Punch amps are decent and may require a bit of current. I wouldn't use any smaller that 12 gauge for the power and ground wires. 8 gauge would be better, incase you want to upgrade the amp later.

The ground wire should be the same guage as the power and this should be connected to a part of the cars body. Make sure to scrape the paint away from the part of the body to make a good contact area.

The remote wire is just to make sure the amp isn't on when the ignition is off. It "looks" for a 12 volt input. This wire can be connected to the power wire of you stereo (stock or aftermarket?) or the accessory wire of the ignition system.

Lastly is the signal to the amp. Your either going to connect a set of patch cables from your head unit to the amps input jacks - OR - if your amp has a speaker level input, you could connect wires from possibly your rear speakers to this special input