Car detailing tips

Diamond Member
Username: Bestmankind

Post Number: 22660
i want to detail my own car this weekend or next weekend.

i am gonna use clay too.

question is, i've never used clay before. what do i do?

do i first wash the car then use the clay or clay first then wash? also when using clay, do i do it in a circular motion or back and forth?

thanks in advance.

Gold Member
Username: The_image_dynamic

San Diego, California

Post Number: 4702

Diamond Member

Post Number: 22661
give me some links to good products berny. like clay, wax, polish, etc.....

thanks.

oh and thanks for the vids brad.you da best.

Gold Member
Username: Skibum12189

Cleveland

Post Number: 3004
the clay bar works soooo well it's crazy. last summer i washed (rag but no soap), then clay barred, then washed with soap, then waxed, then washed again with soap.

my paint seriously still feels brand new. my paint is smoother and feels newer than my moms 05 envoy. not even lying, my paint feels absolutely brand new, it's ridiculous.

Diamond Member

Post Number: 22662
cal don't just brag about the work you did with the clay. give me the damn link to the clay you used. lol. please.

thanks.

chad.

Silver Member
Username: Gavbo211

Olney, IL US

Post Number: 971
i've used the meguiars before. didn't buy the kit in the video but got all the stuff seperately, and it seemed to work really well. i wasn't disappointed at all and cal is right, it makes a night and day difference in the texture and feel of your paint surface.

just make sure you don't drop the bar. its a pain in the a*ss to have to go back to the store and buy another clay bar cause you accidentally dropped it in the driveway.

Diamond Member

Post Number: 22664
sounds good.

since my car is black and time has passed, i am seeing white swirl marks when parked under a light. i also need good wax and polish to get that stuff out.

Gold Member
Username: Skibum12189

Cleveland

Post Number: 3005