Need help matching amp to speakers.

Username: K4m1k423k1d

Tempe, AZ United States

Post Number: 1
I have Alpine Type R 6.5" component and 6.5" rear coaxial speakers along with two 12" Type R 4 ohm subwoofers. I'm aware that there are other threads regarding this but they mostly have a price limit involved with them. I'm a musician (mostly rock) but I know NOTHING about car audio. Basically, I want to get whatever and how many ever amps are necessary to power this setup with sound quality in mind with little or no regards to price. I'd like to say that I'd spare no expense but realistically, I won't spend more than $4,000 on amps unless there's good reason to. I make music therefore I want to listen to it with quality in mind. In addition I'd like to be able to use these amps with Alpine Type X's should I choose to upgrade. I mostly (but not only) listen to rock music if this helps and I also need a box for the subs. (ported or sealed for rock music on 2 12s?) I'm putting all of this into a 98 nissan 240SX so you can get an idea of how much space I have to work with. Thanks so much in advance!

Gold Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Northwest PA

Post Number: 8380
First of all theres no point in spending a huge amount of money on amps when the speakers are only mid level at best, they're not going to produce top quality sound. But those alpines are decent.

For the speakers:

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=19060

For the subs:

http://www.audioque.com/aq/AQamps.htm

Username: K4m1k423k1d

Tempe, AZ United States

Post Number: 2