Extremely Annoying Head Unit Problem

Username: Hellasancho

Brockport, NY United States

Post Number: 1
Hi everyone, I'm very new to the world of car audio so bear with me...

I just installed a Sony head unit into my 2001 Cavalier. Instead of buying a $100 wiring harness to preserve the door chimes and possibly the data bus line I descided to just wire the harness that came with the head unit to the existing harness. Everything is working fine accept for the radio. The iPod connection and cd player as well as the aux connection are all working great. When I flip the stereo source to radio, it runs for a few moments and then I hear a solinoid click neer my dash panel and a message "Error" shows up on my odometer. Also an "ABS" light turns on along withh all of my meters going to zero (sped, tach, gas gauge, etc...) I assume this is some sort of anti-theft system having to do with the data bus that is hanging out of my harness... Is there any way to fix this? Am I going to have to fork out the money for an expensive harness?

Thanks for your help in advance... I'm pretty frustrated over this. It's a pain going in and out of a cavy so I want to prevent having to do it too many times...

~hElla

Gold Member
Username: Kpa2727

Old Bridge, NJ USA !

Post Number: 1425
as far as i have researched this topic many times mainly in pontiacs, NO!. the data bus line is some delicate crap, it controls, ecu, power feeds damn near all the vitals of the engine and u souldn't mess with it. ur pretty lucky if the converter is a 100 bucks the ones for pontiacs can be as much as 600. the best bet so u don't really screw your car up is to do it right and get the converter.

Username: Gregsenne

Post Number: 2