2ohm vs 4ohm

Bronze Member
Username: Clawless

Shreveport, La

Post Number: 16
ive never ordered online and im tryn to make sure to get the right ohm sub and the right amp.i am ordering 4 kicker l7s. two kicker 1500x1. ok should i go with single 2 ohm or dual 4 ohm? i have no idea!help!

Gold Member
Username: Insearchofbass

Post Number: 9462
what size l7's are you getting (curious) and what vehicle is this going in....your also going to need an upgraded electrical system to support them

Silver Member
Username: Gibsonguy

Storrs, CT USA

Post Number: 134
either way you will be wiring 2 a final load of 2 ohms.

Username: Kielbasa

Post Number: 9
I've been wondering the difference between the same subs with different ohms. I'm really new to car audio, so to me it seems everyone should get the 2 ohm versions since most amps seem to deliver more power at 2 ohms, but I'm not sure if 4 ohms has some sort of advantage or what.

Silver Member

Storrs, CT USA

Post Number: 135
a dual 4 ohm sub can be wired to a final load of 2 ohms or 8 ohms. a single 2 ohm subs can be wired to only 2 ohms. either way both subs will wire to the same ohm load. Manufacturers just offer subs in different ohm loads to help people match them better with the amps they have. there will be no difference in the subs performance though based on the vc configuration. like a 2 ohm sub wont have better sq than a 4 ohm sub.

Gold Member
Username: Naledge503

LowDownForum.com

Post Number: 3845
Either way, S2 or D4, the two subs to each amp will wire to 1 or 4 ohm per amp. Those amps are 2ohm stable. You need D2 subs to run 2 subs to each amp. Unless you dont want the full potential out of them and you want to wire your subs to a 4ohm impedance.

Gold Member
Username: Nd4spd18

Northwest PA

Post Number: 7650
1) what naledge said, those subs are the wrong impendace for those amps.

2) kicker L7s suck, don't buy those. Kicker amps are good though.

Gold Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX