Sub frequency help

Bronze Member
Username: Dupe112309

Post Number: 73
have 2 type r 12s on a zx1000.1 at 2 ohms. Also have spx 13ref for fronts and spr 13c for rears. have zx350.4 for the speakers. In a 2000 mustang cpe. What do you think would be the best way to set up the frequencies? listen to rap/hip hop. Also.....these amps are mounted on my box and seem to be getting hot after say a 1/2 hour of listening. gain is set to under half on both of them, i'm new to car audio so this may be normal.

Silver Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 925
amps getting warm is normal, but not HOT. make sure your bassboost isnt on on your sub amp.

freq. should be set like this:
sub amp - 80Hz
comp amp - 100-125Hz

Bronze Member

Post Number: 74
why shouldn't my bass boost be on? if that is set to 0 and the bass boost remote is set to 0 there is basically zero bass. i have had it at like 1/3 on both.

Bronze Member

Post Number: 75
will it be safe if i dont hear distortion with the bass boost set between +3 and +6db and turn the gain up to more than 1/2? i always thought with the gain up at more than 1/2 would be bad. or maybe even just turn the gain up more than 1/2? I noticed the bass i was getting was not "true" bass, and when i turned the bass boost down it sounded better but not the trunk rattling kind. So....I guess im wondering if my gain is set to more than half is that ok? I heard the kicker amps can take a beating and so can the type r's.

Silver Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 928
the gain is not a volume knob. you can set the bassboost for a lil bit but not too high, it will cause distortion.

what is your box like? sealed, ported?

Bronze Member

Post Number: 76