Decisions, decisions

Username: Princevalorum

Ohio USA

Post Number: 1
Okay, I'm completely new to all of this. I recently got my own car, my dad's old '95 Mazda 626, and I'm completely disgusted with the stock speakers.

I'm a lot more eager to upgrade the rear speakers (I know, it ruins the soundstage) because it's easier. I'm somewhat weary of ripping open my door.

I was thinking of putting a pair Sony XPLOD 5x7" XS-V5742A in the back. I know, you guys hate Sony, but I have a super tight budget being in high school. I'd only like to spend approximately $50 for the rears and $50 for the front.

My car has 5x7", so I figure I should get 5.25" for the front with an adapter. Do you guys have any suggestions for what would be the best within the measly $50?

I have the stock head unit. I realize I probably need to upgrade this, too. I don't know how much power it puts out. If you know of any "good" head units for less than $100, I think I could squeeze that in, too. I'm also weary of installing an amp.

I'm completely new to this, but eager to learn. I realize that my system definitely won't win any awards within that kind of budget, but at this point, banging on pots and pans it better than what I've got. Thanks!

Silver Member
Username: Drant19

DUB-C, TX

Post Number: 792
save up man. dont even worry about the rear speakers, you dont hear them.

you dont NEED a new headunit to install an amp, all you need is an LOC and you can keep the factory stereo.

DO NOT get Sony!!!! << can't stress that enough

Platinum Member
Username: Wingmanalive

A pic is worth 1000 posts!!

Post Number: 16146
Look, not everyone can start out on the top. You're on a budget and that's understandable. Some lessons in life are best learned through experience and someday you'll look back on your choice of Sony and think "Damn, that was sofuckingretarded".

At least it won't be an expensive lesson.

Ohio USA

Post Number: 2
Okay, so Sony is out.